• Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archive

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

A Full Length Album for Behind Bad Luck!

And so The Journey begins! Work is in progress for a full length album for my ska/rock band, Behind Bad Luck! As with the demo we produced in late 2007, I will be engineering this project and keeping everyone up to date along the way. I’ll do my best to post regularly about this recording journey and about other things on the side. 

 

Scratch guitar and bass tracks for several songs have been laid down by John Pizzirusso and Jared Brickman, respectively. I’ve recorded the drum tracks for one of the songs so far. I’ll be recording my drum tracks for these songs over the course of the next few weeks. After that, I expect we’ll begin tracking guitars and bass. 

 

We’re recording the tracks with the aid of the on campus, student run record label/studio, Madstop. They have a Pro Tools 7.4 LE system using a Digidesign 002 Rack interface. I’m bringing in a lot of my microphones because of my preferences in sound. Due to the lack of some serious recording facilities, I’m doing are best to make creative use of space and my knowledge of acoustics to achieve the best possible sound. Every session is certainly an experience.

 

For those of you who like to geek out over gear lists, here’s some of what we’re using for microphones;

  • AKG C1000s
  • AKG D112
  • Rode NT1a
  • CAD Equitek E100
  • CAD Equitek E200
  • Shure SM57

It’s a relatively modest collection but the sounds are good and I’m a happy engineer/drummer. More to come as the sessions progress!

 

One Response

  1. yay behind bad luck!

Leave a Reply

