• Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archive

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Current Musical Obsession: John Powell


John Powell is a film composer of the 21st Century who is easily recognizable. My interest in John Powell came after seeing the Bourne films (Bourne Identity, Bourne Supremacy, Bourne Ultimatum) for which he composed the soundtracks. As a percussionist and avid listener of World music, I was quite drawn to his compositional voice. There is A LOT of use of ethnic percussion in Powell’s music. This obviously helps build intensity throughout movie scenes. The following is a short list of several of the films for which John Powell has composed;

  • Jumper
  • The Bourne Trilogy
  • X-Men 3: The Last Stand
  • Flight 93
  • The Italian Job

I’m slowly building my collection of John Powell soundtracks and I just can’t get enough. His music has it’s own voice without all sounding like the same thing. There are so many layers to his orchestration too. As I write this, I’m listening to “Tangiers” from the Bourne Ultimatum Soundtrack and I’m hearing things I haven’t heard before on what iTunes tells me is my 18th time listening to the piece straight through.

Much to my dismay, John Powell does not have an official website out there on the great World Wide Web. He does, however had a mysace and an unofficial website which includes his filmography, biography and other things that one might want to check out. Take a listen to some of the clips on his myspace and maybe buy one of the soundtracks he composed. Check out a movie with his music. If your tastes are as eclectic as mine, I’m sure you’ll enjoy!

If you like the music of John Powell, also check out the following composers;
Hans Zimmer
Patrick Doyle
Harry Gregson-Williams

Leave a Reply

