• Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archive

  • Twitter

Vermont Public Radio Evening Jazz with George Thomas

I used to listen to the radio a lot when I was younger. I enjoyed a decent majority of the music I heard on the few stations that I tuned into. As time progressed, I lost interest in traditional radio and turned to online streaming radio stations and my personal CD collection.

In recent years I’ve gotten back to listening to the radio. I regularly tune in for the VPR Jazz show with George Thomas on week nights. The show is live from 8-10pm Mon-Thur. and 9-midnight on Fridays. It’s a great way to relax and enjoy some great music in the evening. I’m a big Jazz fan but I constantly find myself hearing recordings for the first time as their “spun” (I guess they’re not exactly spun in the traditional sense, but you get my meaning) by George. Every night is essentially a continuation of my Jazz education. George provides a great balance of traditional, classic and contemporary jazz on the show. There must be a heck of a collection of recordings at the VPR studio because I’ve only heard the same recording played twice maybe a handful of times over the past several years. George’s knowledge of Jazz history is quite impressive as well. I’m constantly picking up new facts about musicians on specific recordings and the connections they share with other musicians.

Without fail, George always posts the playlist for the evening on the VPR Jazz website. This is definitely convenient if you heard something you really dug but didn’t get to write down the artists name in time while it was playing.

Tune in sometime and enjoy!

(Live Stream)

Leave a Reply

