• Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archive

  • Twitter

1 Week of Teaching @ Music Camp

This will be my second summer as the percussion teacher at the VYOA Music Day Camp at the Elley-Long Music Center in Colchester, VT. I always look forward to teaching young musicians because I love to see the genuine interest in music in people their age. It’s a fun group to teach.

Tomorrow will be the start of my week. My room is set; instruments organized, chairs and stands present. I’ll be composing the small ensemble music for them during my free time throughout the day tomorrow. I decided it would be best to compose the ensemble music myself so as to cater it to the specific players. I will compose a piece or two that is within their grasp but will force them to grow as musicians (which is the ultimate goal of the camp).

This should be a fun, though quite busy, week. I’ll be working at the camp in the morning then taking an hour off to come home and refresh myself. Then I’m off to work at Daddy’s Junky Music. It’s gonna be a full week but I’m looking forward to it. I plan to post a few times if I can throughout the week.

Leave a Reply

