• Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archive

  • Twitter

A New Musical Project

With July just around the corner, a new musical challenge awaits me. I have decided that, in the interest of challenging my musical mind, I will write and record an album in the month of July. My inspiration comes from the RPM Challenge, a music writing challenge in which participants are challenged to write and record an entire album of either 10 tracks or 35 minutes during the month of February.

Since February is much too far away and I’m typically quite busy with school during February, I have decided to take a stab at this for July. I will be stepping out of my comfort zone, both musically and technically. I plan to use some very experimental recording techniques and unconventional sound sources. The result will hopefully be uniquely enjoyable.

I will be posting regular updates on the process. In an effort to bring you closer to the experience. I plan to include a variety of multimedia tidbits within my posts.

An album in one month. Surely it can be done. Am I crazy for taking on the challenge? Of course. Might I fail to meet my goal? It’s certainly possible, but that’s just how it goes. I can see myself benefiting greatly from this challenge. I look forward to sharing my thoughts along the way!

3 Responses

  1. Have you considered taking a stab at the 50/90 songwriting challenge? It’s hosted over at the FAWM website and it’s going on around the same time. I’d suggest checking that out. It’s lots of fun!

    -Nick

  2. I looked into the 50/90 challenge but I feel like it’s more geared towards quantity of songs. With the challenge I’m about to start, I can really dig into an idea and work with it over the course of 5-10 minutes if I feel like it could go somewhere and instead of that just counting as one song, it could be up to a third of the project. I really want to focus on quality with this project.

    I do think that the 50/90 challenge would be a cool thing to try out but probably not for the style I want to experiment with in this project.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

